All Recruiters Are Deceitful, Ill-mannered, Money-Hungry Jerks with Slimy Reputations   1 comment


 

Okay.  I’m the first to admit it.   I have a love for people.  It’s like I am addicted or something.  Combine this with my love of coaching, my need to do research, add a few social media tools and we are talking about one crazy, ecstatic lady!   

I guess it was something that could have been detected early on.  I have always enjoyed providing service and helping people in any way that I possibly could.  Whether it was solving a problem, offering my assistance or even just creating a smile on someone’s face, they all brought me joy.

Whenever careers were the topic of discussion, everyone always told me I should be a recruiter.  What???  I baulked at the idea and was rather offended.  All recruiters were deceitful, ill-mannered, money-hungry jerks with slimy reputations.  They never cared about anyone but themselves.  I had bigger expectations for my career.  After all, I was into helping people and making them smile so recruiting was not for me.  Or was it?

With one thing leading to another, I soon found myself recruiting.  One moment I was doing research on people and the next I was told to go make friends.  I picked up the phone and started talking to everyone.  It was like I didn’t even notice it happened.  It started so innocently and it appears that I was the only one shocked when it occurred.  I never thought my career path would cross over into the recruitment industry but, it did.  I was so surprised.  Even more surprising though, was that I actually liked it.

I suppose this is quite similar to the feeling people are experiencing when they say, ‘if you love your career, you’ll never work a day in your life’.  I know it is cliché but, it is true.  I get the opportunity to combine all the things I love into my career.  Everyday I do research, coach and use social media tools.  I couldn’t be happier!  The recruiters that I speak with are so warm and friendly and seem to genuinely share the same people-passion as me. 

With a goal of improving the reputation, instilling confidence and building trust and rapport within the industry, I have a lot of work left to do!  So don’t be surprised when you get that call from me and you hear a passionate voice on the other end of the phone.  I mean, you didn’t think that all recruiters were deceitful, ill-mannered, money-hungry jerks with slimy reputations, did you?

Posted July 14, 2010 by Lea McKay in Recruiter

Tagged with ,

One response to “All Recruiters Are Deceitful, Ill-mannered, Money-Hungry Jerks with Slimy Reputations

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention All Recruiters Are Deceitful, Ill-mannered, Money-Hungry Jerks with Slimy Reputations « Lea McKay -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

